IB Sciences Guide: Chemistry

Reading, quiz and resources on the topic of chemical reactions, atomic theory, and physical states.

Search chemicals to receive data on their molecular formula, weight, and chemical compositions.

Interactive web based tutorials on topics like atomic structures, gas, physical states, thermodynamics.

Infographic explorations of everyday chemical compounds.

National Science Foundation research and educational resources on the topic of sustainable plastics.

News, trends, data and statistics and scientific information linked to sustainability.

Available on our digital PressReader platform

Available via EBSCO

Published by the Royal Society of Chemists.

The Conversation is published by journalists and academics.

Publications include full text access to journals on theoretical and experimental chemistry, structural chemistry, atmospheric chemistry, organic chemistry, nucleotides, and more.

National Institutes of Health (NIH) open chemistry database with information on chemical structures, identifiers, properties, biological activities, patents, toxicity data, and more.

Database of articles and ebooks including some chemistry content.

Open Access (free) and peer reviewed topics from all areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences

DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.

On the left of the results screen are options to refine the result by Access Type. Select 'Open Access and Open Archive' to limit your results to content you can access without a subscription.

Created by Scientific America - click on the elements to find out the name, phase, category, atomic weight and fun facts.

More detailed than the Scientific America table, provides isotopes, electron configuration, density, ionization energy, and supply risk information for each element.

Learn about the story behind each element by listening to these Chemistry World podcasts.

Drag and drop different elements of the periodic table together to see what happens when they combine.

Interactive simulations for science and math. Includes simulations exploring motion, waves, quantum phenomena and more.

Managed by Carnegie Mellon University, this site contains virtual labs, simulations, scenario activities and more.

Mostly focusing on chemical engineering, this website contains simulations and resources on material science and other topics that could interest an IB student.

Interactive Chemistry labs.

Simulations include radioactive decay, intermolecular forces, states of matter, and more.