Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where to search if you need to...
…explore scope & related topics
Use the 'Settings' and 'Tools' options to refine your search results
Bing search results are designed to be as accurate as possible. Users can narrow results to a specific region, country, or language. Other features include an image search, video search, academic and maps.
...refine & narrow a topic
use our library catalogue to search the materials currently held in our library collections
Search a topic in this database of "trusted resources from universities, government, and established noncommercial providers" and use "targets" to refine your search.
...choose a controversial topic
Provides pros and cons on hundreds of controversial issues in: Health and Medicine, Education, Politics, Science & Technology, Elections & Presidents, World/International, Sex & Gender, Sports & Entertainment, and Economy & Taxes.
For subject specific background...
CIA World Factbook
Provides provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Knowledge for Health (K4Health)
K4Health Toolkits are collections of information on public health topics, including contraception, family planning, gender, HIV/AIDS, maternal and child health, and youth.
Source of reliable information on: diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements.
Find information on health, wellness, disorders and conditions, and drugs and supplements. The site also has health and surgery videos, and a Medical Encyclopedia with articles and images for diseases, symptoms, tests, treatments.
Searches archives held at over 250 colleges and universities across the UK. There is a huge diversity of content, from the archives of industries, institutions and researchers to the letters and manuscripts of writers and poets.
Literary Resources on the Net
Links to sites related to all aspects of literature, including: Classical & Biblical: Medieval, Renaissance, 18th-century, Victorian, 20th-century, American, Theatre & Drama, and Women's Literature & Feminism. Author: Jack Lynch, English professor at Rutgers University, Newark. CAUTION: Last updated in 2006.
World Trade Organisation (WTO)
Provides access to the official documents of the WTO's councils and committees as well as to a range of other resources, such as trade statistics, economic research, WTO publications, videos, audio and photos.
Collects and ranks breaking science news, using only content that's freely accessible to online readers. Sources are chosen based on reliability, timeliness of information, extent of coverage, multidisciplinary coverage, and leads to follow-up information.
Philosophy around the Web
Links to philosophy resources online, organized by topic, individual philosopher, and other categories. CAUTION: Last updated in 2005.
Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. The mythology section is divided to six geographical regions: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, Middle East, and Oceania. The Folklore section contains general folklore, Arthurian legends, and fascinating folktales from around the world.
Links to language-related resources, including dictionaries, free translation, language identification, signed languages, and language lessons. Resources are also organized by specific language - from Aboriginal Languages to Zarma!